Welsh Intensive Care Society





The Ed Major Prize

The Ed Major Prize is the main prize competition of the Welsh Intensive Care Society and takes place at the annual Summer Scientific Meeting.

Dr Ed Major OBE was a founder member of the Welsh Intensive Care Society in the early 1990s. A past president of the Intensive Care Society, he was also the first regional advisor for Intensive Care Medicine in Wales. Dr Major was a great training enthusiast and did much to advance training in intensive care medicine within Wales. Dr Major has now retired from clinical practice at Morriston Hospital, Swansea.

- The Ed Major Prize competition is open to all non-consultant WICS members, including trainees, non-consultant career grades, nurses, allied health professionals and medical students.
- Applications should be submitted in the form of an abstract (maximum 500 words) using the relevant proforma. The submission must make governance processes clear: what consent has been obtained for case reporting and what institutional approval has been granted for research, audit and service evaluation projects.
- The work must be new, or describe novel applications. Content should not have been presented nationally/internationally or previously published.
- Closing date for submission will be approximately three weeks prior to the date of the meeting. Further details will be available on the website.
- Abstracts will be short-listed and authors of the best eight invited to present their work at the WICS Summer Scientific Meeting.
- Those invited to present at the Ed Major Prize will be asked to give a 10 minute presentation. A further five minutes will be allocated for questions and timings will be strictly adhered to.
- A submitting author presenting at the Ed Major Prize will have his/ her delegate fee reduced for that day of the Scientific Meeting.
- A minimum of three prizes will be awarded with the option of a separate prize for best case report. First prize winners will not ordinarily be eligible for one of the first three prizes in the year immediately following.